قصص العملاء

قصص العملاء
يتعامل محامو NNJLS مع آلاف القضايا كل عام. فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة عن كيفية إحداث عملنا فرقًا حقيقيًا وهادفًا في حياة الناس. تم تغيير الأسماء ومعلومات التعريف الأخرى.

14.png
جانيت

عندما جاءت "جانيت" إلى Northeast New Jersey Legal Services (NNJLS) للحصول على المساعدة ، كانت تبلغ من العمر 24 عامًا ، وأم عزباء لطفلين كانا يواجهان حالة من التشرد الوشيك. كانت قد عاشت سابقًا في بلدة جنوبية مع والد أطفالها ، لكنه أصبح مسيئًا. عندما تم القبض عليه بتهمة المخدرات ، رأت جانيت فرصتها للفرار. توجهت إلى نيو جيرسي ، حيث تعيش والدتها وشقيقها ، بحثًا عن الأمان والدعم من أسرتها. وافقت والدة جانيت على دفع تكاليف الانتقال إلى نيو جيرسي. وافق شقيقها على بقاء جانيت وأطفالها معه أثناء عودتها إلى المدرسة ، وعرض المساعدة في رعاية أطفالها.

 

عندما وصلت إلى نيو جيرسي ، اكتشفت جانيت أن مالك منزل شقيقها لن يسمح له بإيواءها هي وأطفالها. استأجرت والدة جانيت غرفة من صديقة ، وسمح الصديق لجانيت وأطفالها بالبقاء هناك بشكل مؤقت. لكن الغرفة كانت صغيرة جدًا بحيث لا تتسع لشخصين بالغين وطفلين لفترة طويلة ، وطلب الصديق من جانيت المغادرة.

في مواجهة عدم وجود خيارات أخرى ، تقدمت جانيت للحصول على مساعدة المأوى في حالات الطوارئ. تنص لوائح المساعدة في حالات الطوارئ على أنه يمكن رفض طلب الشخص إذا كان لديه القدرة على التخطيط لمنع تشردهم ولكنهم فشلوا في ذلك. تم رفض طلب مساعدة جانيت الطارئة على هذه الأسس - لأنها تسببت هي نفسها في التشرد.

 

استأنف محامي موظفي NNJLS القرار نيابة عن جانيت. جادل المحامي بأن تشرد جانيت لم يكن خطأها. أثبتت أن جانيت أُجبرت على مغادرة منزلها أو تعرضت لمزيد من الإساءات ، وأن لديها خطة عمل عند مغادرتها. كما أظهرت أن المعتدي على جانيت ، الذي لم يكن يعيش في نيوجيرسي ، استمر في محاولة الاتصال بها ، وأنه على الرغم من المسافة ، ظلت جانيت خائفة جدًا منه.

 

أصدر قاضي القانون الإداري الذي نظر في القضية قرارًا بإلغاء الرفض فورًا ومنح مساعدة جانيت الطارئة. ثم أيدت وكالات الخدمات الاجتماعية الحكومية قرار القاضي. تم وضع جانيت وأطفالها في ملجأ ووجدوا لاحقًا شقة حيث هم بأمان. جانيت خالية من العنف المنزلي ويمكنها الآن التركيز على متابعة التعليم وتربية طفليها الصغار.

ديفيد

"ديفيد" هو أحد المخضرمين والمستجيب الأول السابق الذي تعرض لإصابات في أعقاب 11 سبتمبر. كان يمتلك منزلاً في مقاطعة هدسون ولسنوات كان يسدد رهنه العقاري على الرغم من إصاباته ونقص فرص العمل.

 

بدأت مشكلة ديفيد مع رهنه العقاري عندما ألقي القبض على ابنته واستخدم أموال الرهن العقاري لدفع كفالة لها. بمجرد أن تخلف عن الركب ، رفض البنك قبول مدفوعات الرهن العقاري الخاصة به.

 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، نتيجة لإصاباته في 11 سبتمبر ، يسعى ديفيد للحصول على تعويض من صندوق 11 سبتمبر. بشكل لا يصدق ، استمر الأمر لسنوات دون حل.

 

جاء ديفيد إلى NNJLS عندما تم وضع الرهن ضده. تم تعيين قضيته لمحامي NNJLS ، الذي قدم إجابة على شكوى الرهن بحجة أنه ، نظرًا لأن رهن ديفيد كان مؤمنًا من قبل FHA وأن البنك فشل في الامتثال للوائح FHA ، فقد كان لديه دفاع صالح للقضية.

Image by Tierra Mallorca

تم رفض طلب البنك بإصدار حكم مستعجل ، وكان من المقرر النظر في القضية بعد عام تقريبًا. نظرًا لأن طلب التعويض المعلق الخاص بالعميل لدى لجنة 11 سبتمبر قد يؤدي إلى دفع مبلغ إجمالي كبير بما يكفي لدفع المتأخرات على رهنه العقاري ، وافق المُقرض على تسوية: في مقابل سحب إجابة العميل ، لن يقوم المُقرض التقدم بطلب للحصول على حكم نهائي. لم يتخذ المُقرض أي إجراء لفترة طويلة ، لذلك تم رفض القضية لعدم وجود مقاضاة.

 

لا يزال ديفيد ينتظر قرارًا من صندوق 11 سبتمبر. نأمل أن تؤدي مساعدة NNJLS في النهاية إلى قدرته على سداد رهنه العقاري ، والبقاء في منزله ، والاستمرار في حياته.

10.png
تانيا

"تانيا" مواطنة أمريكية تبلغ من العمر 76 عامًا هاجرت من أوروبا الشرقية مع زوجها وعاشت في مساكن مدعومة لسنوات عديدة. قبل عدة سنوات هجرها زوجها وعاد إلى أوروبا ليقيم في شقة ورثها عن عمته. استمرت تانيا ، المصابة بإعاقة جسدية وعاطفية ، في الإقامة في شقتها المدعومة في نيو جيرسي.

      

على الرغم من مناشدات تانيا ، أصر المالك على أن الزوج لا يزال في عقد الإيجار ، وأنه سيبقى أحد أفراد الأسرة حتى يأتي شخصيًا إلى مكتب المالك ويوقع شهادة بإلغاء عقد الإيجار. وبما أنه كان لا يزال فردًا في الأسرة ، فقد طالب المالك من تانيا بتأثيث الشقة في الخارج - باللغة الإنجليزية - حتى يتمكن المالك من تحديد ما إذا كانت "العائلة" تمتلك أصولًا تتجاوز الحد المسموح به لشقة تانيا المدعومة.

عندما لم تتمكن تانيا من الحصول على عودة زوجها إلى نيوجيرسي أو الحصول على تقييم ، ألغى المالك إعانتها وقدم إخلاءًا بناءً على عدم دفع إيجار السوق للوحدة.

 

بمساعدة ابنتها ، سعت تانيا للحصول على تمثيل من NNJLS. تم تعيين قضيتها لمحامي موظفي NNJLS. بعد سلسلة من المفاوضات ، تمكن المحامي من إقناع المالك بأن ممتلكات الزوج غير مؤهلة كأصل قابل للعد ، وأنه يجب عليهم إزالة الزوج من عقد الإيجار دون مطالبتهم بالعودة إلى نيو جيرسي. في النهاية ، بعد ما يقرب من عام من المفاوضات والمثول أمام المحكمة ، رُفضت قضية الإخلاء. لحسن الحظ ، بقيت تانيا في الشقة التي اتصلت بها منذ سنوات عديدة.

Client Stories

CLIENT STORIES
NNJLS attorneys handle thousands of cases each year. Here are just a few examples of how our work makes a real and meaningful difference in people's lives. Names and other identifying informations has been changed.

Janet

When “Janet” came to Northeast New Jersey Legal Services (NNJLS) for assistance, she was a 24 year-old, single mother of two toddlers who was facing imminent homelessness. She had previously lived in a southern town with the father of her children, but he became abusive. When he was arrested on drug charges, Janet saw her opportunity to flee. She headed to New Jersey, where her mother and brother live, to seek safety and support from her family. Janet’s mother agreed to pay for the move to New Jersey. Her brother agreed that Janet and her children could stay with him while she returned to school, and he offered to assist with the care of her children.

 

When she arrived in New Jersey, however, Janet discovered that her brother’s landlord would not allow him to house her and her children. Janet’s mother rented a room from a friend, and the friend allowed Janet and her children to stay there on a temporary basis. But the room was too small to accommodate two adults and two children for long, and the friend asked Janet to leave.

Faced with no other options, Janet applied for emergency shelter assistance. The regulations for emergency assistance provide that a person’s application can be denied if they had the ability to plan to prevent their own homelessness but failed to do so. Janet’s emergency assistance application was denied on these grounds—that she caused her own homelessness.

 

Our NNJLS Staff Attorney appealed the decision on Janet’s behalf. The attorney argued that Janet’s homelessness was not her fault. She proved that Janet was forced to leave her home or be subjected to further abuse, and that she did have a plan of action in place when she left. She also showed that Janet’s abuser, who did not live in New Jersey, continued to try to contact her and that despite the distance Janet remained very afraid of him.

 

The Administrative Law Judge who heard the case issued a decision immediately overturning the denial and granting Janet emergency assistance. The State Social Services agencies then upheld the Judge’s decision. Janet and her children were placed in a shelter and subsequently found an apartment, where they are safe. Janet is free from domestic violence and can now focus on pursuing an education and raising her two young children.

David

“David” is a veteran and former first responder who suffered injuries in the aftermath of 9/11. He owned a home in Hudson County and for years was current on his mortgage despite his injuries and lack of employment.

 

David’s problem with his mortgage began when his daughter was arrested and he used his mortgage money to post her bail. Once he fell behind, the bank refused to accept his mortgage payments.

 

In addition, as a result of his injuries on 9/11, David is seeking compensation from the 9/11 fund. Incredibly, the matter has dragged on for years with no resolution.

 

David came to NNJLS when a foreclosure was instituted against him. His case was assigned to an NNJLS attorney, who filed an answer to the foreclosure complaint arguing that, because David’s mortgage was insured by the FHA and the bank had failed to comply with FHA regulations, he had a valid defense to the case.

Image by Tierra Mallorca

The bank’s motion for summary judgment was denied, and the case was scheduled for trial nearly a year later. Because the client’s pending compensation application with the 9/11 Commission may result in a lump-sum payment large enough to pay the arrears on his mortgage, the lender agreed to a settlement: In exchange for withdrawal of the client’s answer, the lender would not apply for a final judgment. The lender took no action for an extended period, so the case was dismissed for lack of prosecution.

 

David is still waiting for a decision from the 9/11 fund. Hopefully, NNJLS’s assistance will ultimately result in him being able to pay off his mortgage, remain in his home, and get on with his life.

Tanya

“Tanya” is a 76 year-old U.S. citizen who emigrated from Eastern Europe with her husband and has lived in subsidized housing for many years. Several years ago, her husband deserted her and returned to Europe to reside in an apartment that he inherited from his aunt. Tanya, who is disabled by both physical and emotional ailments, continued to reside in her subsidized apartment in New Jersey.

           

Despite Tanya’s pleas, the landlord insisted that the husband was still on the lease, and that he would remain a member of the household until he personally came to the landlord’s office and signed a certification removing himself from the lease. And since he was still a member of the household, the landlord demanded that Tanya furnish an appraisal of the apartment abroad—in English—so the landlord could determine whether the “family” had assets exceeding the allowable limit for Tanya’s subsidized apartment.

​When Tanya was unable to obtain either her husband’s return to New Jersey or an appraisal, the landlord revoked her subsidy and filed an eviction based on non-payment of the market rent for the unit.

 

Aided by her daughter, Tanya sought representation from NNJLS. Her case was assigned to an NNJLS staff attorney. After a series of negotiations, the attorney was able to convince the landlord that the husband’s property did not qualify as a countable asset, and that they should remove the husband from the lease without requiring him to return to New Jersey. Ultimately, after nearly a year of negotiations and court appearances, the eviction case was dismissed. Tanya thankfully remains in the apartment she has called home for many years.